US sanctions against 7 officials and RAB including Benazir



US sanctions against 7 officials and RAB including Benazir

The US Treasury Department has imposed sanctions on 10 organizations and 15 individuals around the world for alleged human rights abuses and harassment. The list also includes the names of the Rapid Action Battalion (RAB) of Bangladesh and the former and current top six officers of the organization. On the occasion of International Human Rights Day, the US Department of the Treasury Office of Foreign Assets Control (OFAC) has released a list of these organizations and individuals. The State Department has also barred two former RAB officers from entering the United States, one of whom is on the Treasury Department's list.

A total of seven former and current RAB officers have been named in the US embargo. They are the current Director General of RAB Chowdhury Abdullah Al Mamun, Additional Director General Khan Mohammad Azad, former Director General Benazir Ahmed, former Additional Director General Tofail Mustafa Sarwar, former Additional Director General Mohammad Jahangir Alam, former Additional Director General Mohammad Anwar Latif Khan and former RAB. Uddin Ahmed.

Former RAB director general Benazir Ahmed has been banned from entering the United States for alleged human rights abuses. Along with him, former RAB-7 captain Miftah Uddin Ahmed has also been banned from entering the United States.

The Treasury Department has issued a statement accusing the RAB of serious human rights violations. It said the RAB had undermined the rule of law and human rights by taking part in the Bangladesh government's war on drugs. This threatens the national security interests of the United States.

It said that the Joint Task Force RAB was established in 2004 and consisted of members of Police, Army, Navy, Air Force and Border Guard. The RAB's responsibilities are to gather intelligence on internal security, criminal activity and government-directed investigations. However, local NGOs allege that RAB and other law enforcement agencies have been responsible for the disappearance of more than 600 people in Bangladesh since 2009. Since 2016, they have committed about 800 extrajudicial killings. Some reports have suggested that the victims were mostly members of the opposition, journalists and human rights activists.

On the other hand, Mayo Sui Win, the Chief Minister of Bago State in Myanmar, Sao Minto, the Chief Minister of Cain State, Mong Ko, the Chief Minister of Mandalay State, and Khat Hen Nan, the Chief Minister of Kachin State, and the Quartermaster General's Office of the Ministry of Defense. Included in the list.

Also on the list are Shohrat Zakir, former chairman of China's Xinjiang Uyghur Autonomous Region, and Erken Tuniyaz, current chairman. Chinese technology company Senstime Group Limited has also been included in the list for surveillance. The list also includes some North Korean nationals and some of the organizations and individuals who sponsored them.


Post a Comment

Post a Comment (0)


ads 2

#buttons=(Accept !) #days=(20)

Our website uses cookies to enhance your experience. Learn More
Accept !